03 May 2018

GIJ elects new SRC President

From what seemed to be a relatively fierce competition among the SRC Presidential aspirants, Emmanuel Kumah has emerged winner of the just-ended 2018/19 SRC elections replacing outgoing SRC president, Martin Thompson Ntem popularly known as MTN.

Out of a total valid votes cast of 2401 electorates comprising of both degree and diploma students of the Institute (weekend school inclusive), Kumah swept 1095 votes as against Orlando Tetteh and Kwasi Nimo Jnr’s 395 and 885 votes respectively. Also, a total of 26 votes were rejected.

Martin Ntem whose administration ends once a handing over takes place described the elections as “well organized” and “devoid of bias” urging newly elected executives to deliver on their campaign promises.
“This is one of the best elections so far; very peaceful, very transparent and free. Devoid of unnecessary tension. As newly elected executives, students’ interest must remain paramount”, he said.

In a statement signed by GIJ SRC’s Communications Director Evans Aziamor –Mensah, the Executive Committee of the SRC congratulated all newly elected Executives who are to steer the affairs of the SRC in the 2018/19 Academic year.

“It is our believe that as headmen of our SRC and by the amount of faith reposed in you by the student populace ,you will work with so much tactfulness and ethical leadership characteristics in order to raise the notch higher for our noble SRC” a section of the statement read.

“Not long from now, a transition team will be put together to ensure a smooth transfer of power from this current SRC Executive Committee to the next” it added.

Below is a breakdown of the results

Overall (Presidential)
Total vote cast =2401

Overall (General Secretary)
Total vote cast=2324
Naa Adoley Moffat-1324
Musbau Razak-972

Overall (Organizing Secretary)
Total vote cast=2301
Dennis Mitterrand -749
Nana Ofori Apau -1,538

Overall (External Affairs)
Total vote cast=2,361

Overall (Financial Secretary)
Unopposed – Buatsi Redeemer
Total vote cast=2,585

Overall (WOCOM)
Total vote cast=2,382
Faiza Ibrahim – 779
Edna Boakye – 967
Adriana Adu – 618

Leave a Reply